In Case You Wondered …

How were the modern wonders of the world chosen?  The following is from World Atlas.

Seven Wonders of the Modern World

The campaign to pick the “Seven Wonders of the Modern World” began in 1999 when Swiss adventurer Bernard Weber asked for nominations. Overall he received almost 200 from across the planet.

On July 8, 2007, the winners were announced at a glitzy show in Lisbon, Portugal, and the seven winners were chosen by the more than 95 million votes received. And the winners are….

  • The Great Wall of China
  • Petra in Jordan
  • Christ the Redeemer Statue in Brazil
  • Peru’s Machu Picchu
  • Mexico’s Chichen Itza Pyramid
  • Rome’s Colosseum
  • India’s Taj Mahal

This new list does not replace the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, of which the GreAat Pyramid of Giza is the only one still standing today. It only tries to offer a more realistic example of wondrous manmade objects still visible today.

(World Atlas)

And here they are – our 2020 Globe Walk destinations.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: